Reviews

Click here to submit your review.


Submit your review
* Required Field

The Winds that Blow before the Rain SKU UPC Model

Jan 20, 2013 by Pauline Bud

Have just completed reading Michael Anthony’s book and tearfully so at that. What a winner, a beautifully written and fascinating story. Congratulations. The effort that has been put into writing it has been well justified. I love the characters and the story line and I can see a film in it as well.


Jan 20, 2013 by Roddy Lott

A HUGE congratulations to Michael Anthony – I just love the book and have ordered copies for my children. It is awesome – scary and sexy, frightening and violent, interesting and fascinating.
Well done Michael Anthony – can’t wait for the next one.


Jan 20, 2013 by Beryl Symonds

A really good read. The descriptions of Africa in The Winds that Blow Before the Rains, were just so very evocative.


Epic - a must read!

Jan 19, 2013 by Pears

Occasionally a book comes along that touches the soul and this is such a book. The author has clearly put so much of himself in this book it almost feels like a biography. Set during one of the World's forgotten wars it remains, sadly, just as relevant today, particularly in the tragically beautiful country of Zimbabwe. The prose used by the author is in direct contrast with all the "quick reads" that are the vogue of the modern reader and takes the reader back 30 years and into one of Africa's most turbulent yet wonderful places.


Jan 17, 2013 by John Harrison

I have finished the book and I loved it – hope there will be a sequel?


A splendid read

Jan 17, 2013 by fanny

The history and brutality of the Bush War set against the beauty of Zimbabwe and it's people is successfully braided into the intimate daily detail of this compelling and intelligent book.


Jan 15, 2013 by Tony and Edwina Johnson

I finished Michael Anthony’s book a couple of weeks ago and really did enjoy the read. It stirred up many happy memories of my African trip and the fabulous skies and scenery which we encountered along the way. You could tell the book was written with passion and from the heart. Wilbur Smith should be watching this young author. Well done in writing the book, Michael Anthony.


A read for everyone!

Jan 14, 2013 by DIYer

A book which should be read by everyone who is interested in Zimbabwe. A very gripping story which is grim in parts but the sort of book you don't want to put down----beautifully written.


Beautifully written

Jan 10, 2013 by Grandpa Bill

In a beautifully written novel, Michael Anthony captures the stunning beauty of Zimbabwe - its landscape, its wildlife, its people.
He writes an honest and personal portrayal of the traumas, the violence, the inhumanity that both Blacks and Whites suffered before, during and after the war for independence. His understanding and empathy for its people is magnificently encapsulated in Sengamo, a black man brought up up on a white farm, fighting for independence but disheartened by the brutality and evil that ensues in Mugabe's fight for supremacy.
Amidst the ruthlessness of war, Anthony introduces a passionate love affair between Isabella and Robert Doyle, cleverly developing his story so that the love affair becomes entwined with the war.
I thoroughly enjoyed learning about the Bush War from the point of view of a writer able to give a voice to both sides of the conflict.
An intelligent, poetic and memorable read.


starsGripping read

Dec 16, 2012 by Darrgh T

I am of the age that remembers the Rhodesian/Zimbabwean conflict, but like many living in England during this time the impact was only what the media reported. It is interesting to get the perspective from someone who lived through this period and experienced the horror of war first hand. This book brings the obvious beauty of the country alive, and the authors love of his homeland. The story is well told and cleverly interlinks the political upheaval with a true love story. The story moves seemlessly from one character to the next, and I was gripped as the story enfolded. A real page turner!


5.0 5.0 30 30 Gripping throughout, a great read The Winds that Blow before the Rain
Page:
123